On the course this past weekend, I putt from just off the green and my ball struck my playing partners ball, knocking it closer to the hole.
After a quick giggle, we began to discuss the ruling, 'I'll play from there and its a one-shot penalty for you' my friend said. 'I was off the green' I said, 'Doesn't matter' he said. Right, I said. 'Hang on, and I'll consult the rule book'.
Luckily, I had The R&A's Rules of Golf on my phone (Well worth a download and it's FREE)
Without quoting the book verbatim, there are basically three scenarios which you should be mindful of:
On the Fairway (updated June 14th, 2023) If your ball strikes a fellow player's ball on the fairway by accident, The 9.6 rule comes into affect, meaning If my ball...